Get ready to jump

I am the kind of person who finds something that I enjoy doing and then does it repeatedly, because if it makes you happy, why not right?

I have stacks of new books waiting to be read and yet I will still reread my favourites (currently Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, and Chris Van Wyk’s Shirley, Goodness & Mercy). One of the things I am able to enjoy over and over again is watching The Devil Wears Prada. During my last rewatch, right at the scene where Jump by Madonna plays in the background (I love this part), I started thinking about the lyrics which go like this:

There’s only so much you can learn in one place
The more that you wait
The more time that you waste

And so I began thinking about where I am, where I want to be and what I am doing in the meantime.

I have spent almost five years in the small town of Grahamstown, South Africa. I majored in English and Journalism in undergrad, which allowed for a fair amount of creativity. I then did Honours in Journalism and Media Studies and this year I began my two-year MA in the same department. While I am deeply passionate about my research, I have felt that the more academic turn in my work has meant that I have fewer avenues to be creative.

Have you ever been quite happy as you are, but still longing to do SO MUCH MORE? That’s me right now.

I dream of working for a fashion or decor magazine (no seriously I have had dreams about the Elle offices, they were full of cupcakes) and I cannot wait to move to a more inspiring city (hello Cape Town!) where hopefully I will be able to afford all the lovely things.

But for now, I live in a tiny town and my student budget is equally tiny (which is why a lot of what I have is mostly made). It’s something that can either limit you, or inspire you to be really creative about the way you live, which leads me to this blog.

I am making the most of what I am doing and will be blogging as a creative outlet and as a way to not remain static. Because Madonna is right (at least in this instance), there’s only so much you can learn in one place.

Perhaps more importantly, this is to also remind myself that while I am pretty good at this academic life, my passion lies in making journalism and creating beautiful things. And if I can make journalism about the things I create, well what could be better?

So here it is, Mostly Made, a blog about media, DIY design, thrifty fashion and living creatively and stylishly on a budget.

(and here is a photo of Cape Town just because)

20150321_160430

http://iconosquare.com/w/follow/carissadoodle?widget_type=follow_me

Leave a Reply

